Author Topic: Canning Food  (Read 17697 times)

Richard Myers

• Servant
  • Grace, more than a word, it is transforming power
    • The Remnant Online
Canning Food
« on: March 17, 2004, 06:55:00 AM »
Most people are not blessed to be able to grow food year round. Most who have gardens produce more than they need in the growing season. If only we could save some for winter use. We can!

We need some expert advice in this area for I am not an expert. I like to freeze food, but it is expensive. I just turned off my freezer. It cost too much to run with the increased price of electricity. We also dry food for winter use, but this is also expensive if done by electricity.

Canning is less costly and provides for the preservation of some foods very nicely.  There is a caution. Do not attempt to preserve food in this manner without becoming educated first. Generally speaking from what I know, fruits including tomatoes are relavitely easy and safe to can, but greens are more of a concern. Beginners are advised to restrict their canning at first to fruit.

Soon the fruit will begin to mature and then is the time to consider canning for the winter months when prices are quite high.

What does canning do to preserve food? Temperature kills the living organisms that would produce decay. Then sealing the food in glass jars keeps air away from the food. When the jars are opened and air is allowed in contact with the food, fermentation will begin.

It important to get a vacuum inside the jar. I will let some of our experts explain the process better.   :)

Jesus receives His reward when we reflect His character, the fruits of the Spirit......We deny Jesus His reward when we do not.

Ele Holmes

• Moderator at Rest
Canning Food
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2004, 10:33:00 AM »